Ask Me – poem

Below is a poem I read in the book, Let Your Life Speak by Parker Palmer. The poem didn’t really stir me until this week, standing on the banks of a small frozen river, giving way to the first signs of Spring. As much as people try to help and give advice to help us transform our lives, perhaps it is best to realize the current beneath life. Though hidden for a season, it is flowing in our heart’s essence through God’s creative compassion. Enjoy the poem and my picture. Reflect, and share your thoughts if moved to do so.


Ask Me

Some time when the river is ice ask me
mistakes I have made. Ask me whether
what I have done is my life. Others
have come in their slow way into
my thought, and some have tried to help
or to hurt: ask me what difference
their strongest love or hate has made.

I will listen to what you say.
You and I can turn and look
at the silent river and wait. We know
the current is there, hidden; and there
are comings and goings from miles away
that hold the stillness exactly before us.
What the river says, that is what I say.

William Stafford

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

About burbankchristian

First Christian Church of Burbank is a Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation. Pastor Steve Borgard is blogging about his sabbatical. The Sabbatical will include: Courgage to Lead Retreats (focusing on Circles of Trust and the Seasons of Ministry), Preaching (Homeletics Conference), Contemplative Prayer and Spiritual Formation (Oregon Extension Summer Contemplative Retreat) and an Interfaith Experience (Thich Nhat Hahn - Mindfulness Retreat)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ask Me – poem

  1. Rachel McCrickard says:

    For me, this poem speaks to the importance of pausing to reflect on life – in all it’s many forms. I think the stillness of the river in the winter reminds us that there is always a time when creation pauses, when growth is on hold – and that this is a good time to look back at the conversations and experiences that have helped or hindered our formation, and it’s also a time to look ahead at what is to come.

Leave a Reply

